Btz and B7Dt Est metallized coaches EPM

Original page created on 02/08/2023; last modified on 26/08/2023.

Brand - Reference

EPM 41.33.01

Type

Btz et B7Dt Est modernized coaches known as “Romilly”.

UIC number Revision date
50 87 29-17 273-6 3 18.4.76
50 87 29-17 313-0 3 14.8.74
50 87 82-17 404-1 3 13.3.80

Weight

109 g (NEM: 87 to 113 g)

Comments

Externally, there’s nothing to distinguish these coaches from the De Massini’s. Now, the bogies, buffers and gangways are painted grey. The aerators, or rather vents, above the WCs are metal and too thin (0.3 mm instead of 0.43).

The handrails are fitted. I would have liked the gangway handles to be metal, as they would have been thinner and less fragile. At comparable prices, or even lower, REE’s latest products are better in this respect.

The bogies, clipped into the chassis, are hardly removed. The small primary suspension coil springs are cylindrical. Axle characteristics: see table opposite. Insulated half-axles. Not burnished wheels. The running is very good, except for one of the 6 bogies. Probable cause: the bearings are not properly seated in their housings. Remedy: remove 0.2 mm from the axle tips.

The big innovation is the lighting. I could have done without it, as I already have suitable lighting strips. The bogies have conductive bearings, connected by bronze strips. Photo. The connection with the chassis is made by excessively rigid blades that raise the coach and prevent it from bearing on its supports. This increases the height by about 0.5 mm. Photo.Electrified bogieElectrical connection between bogie and body

The green lighting strip has a 6-pin NEM 651 decoder socket and two switches: SW1 for the lamps and SW2 for the lighting. These switches should be fairly easy to replace with latching reed switches, at least for the lighting, as the two are grouped together. The light intensity is controlled by a trimmer. (see photo).Lighting circuit

The interior fittings have a dark grey floor; the railcar-style benches are light grey. The handholds are not silver. There is no sign of the doors on the end partitions.

Modifications

  • Fitting one or two latching reed switches in parallel with the lighting strip switches for control from the outside. Photo.Control reed switch
  • Replacement of the roof vents with slightly bigger (⌀ 0.5 mm instead of 0.3) and more correctly shaped parts. See before-and-after photo.Roof vents, before-and-after
  • Narrowing of the contact slats between bogie and chassis, to allow coaches to sit correctly on their bogies.

History

These coaches come from the metallization between 1957 and 1962 of 676 old TY coaches built from 1907 to 1923 for most of the old railway companies. This work was carried out in the SNCF workshops in Romilly (among others), hence the nickname attributed to these coaches. They were originally equipped with “wagon-lits” bogies (photo), but some were later equipped with Pennsylvania Y2 or Y16 bogies. Service withdrawal between 1978 and 1985.

Documents

  • Loco-Revue No. 512 (02/89) p. 146.
  • Loco-Revue Special Issue 2005-01, p. 38.
  • Wikipedia article.

EPM Est « Romilly » coaches togetherEPM Est « Romilly » coaches together

B9½tz Est EPMB9½tz Est EPM

B7dtz Romilly

Anonymous photo on trains-en-vadrouille.com.

B7Dt Est EPMB7Dt Est EPM

B7Dt Romilly

Photo Loco-Revue.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 19 280 221.6 221.6
Chassis length 17 950 206.3 205.7
Width 2 958 34.0 34.0
Height 3 945 45.3 46.1
Pivot distance 12 100 139.1 139.7
Bogie wheelbase (WL) 2 500 28.7 28.9
Wheel diameter 1 050 12.1 12.0
D B U
1.0 14.4
to 14.5
23.2
Number of Romilly coaches at 1st January 1976
(document presented by EC64 on the Loco Revue forum).
Type Est Nord Ouest S-O S-E
A10½tz 3 21
A5Btz 49 10 2 16 8
Btz 298 54 12 45 86
B7Dt 26 11 1 9 16

Page créée le 02/08/2023 ; dernière modification le 26/08/2023.

Marque - Référence

EPM 41.33.01

Type

Voitures Btz et B7Dt Est modernisées dites « Romilly ».

Numéro UIC Date de révision
50 87 29-17 273-6 3 18.4.76
50 87 29-17 313-0 3 14.8.74
50 87 82-17 404-1 3 13.3.80

Masse

109 g (NEM : 87 à 113 g)

Commentaires

Extérieurement, rien ne distingue ces voitures des De Massini. Cette fois, les bogies, les tampons et les passerelles d’intercirculation sont peints en gris. Les aérateurs, ou plutôt évents, au-dessus des WC sont métalliques et trop minces (0,3 au lieu de 0,43).

Les mains montoires sont montées. J’aurais aimé que les mains courantes d’intercirculations soient métalliques, elles auraient été plus fines et moins fragiles. À prix comparable, voire moindre, les dernières productions de REE sont meilleures sur ce genre de détails.

Les bogies, clipsés dans le châssis, sont un peu durs à démonter. Les petits ressorts hélicoïdaux de suspension primaire sont bien cylindriques. Caractéristiques des essieux : voir tableau ci-contre. Demi-axes isolés. Roues non brunies. Le roulement est très bon, sauf pour un bogie parmi les 6. Cause probable : les paliers mal enfoncés dans leur logement. Remède : enlever 0,2 mm aux pointes d’axes.

La grande nouveauté est l’éclairage. Je m’en serais bien passé, car j’ai déjà des réglettes adaptées. Les bogies ont donc des paliers conducteurs, reliés par des lames apparemment en bronze. Photo. La liaison avec le châssis se fait par des lamelles trop rigides qui soulèvent la voiture et l’empêchent de porter sur ses appuis. Cela augmente la hauteur de 0,5 mm environ. Photo.Bogie électrifiéLiaison électrique bogie-caisse

La réglette d’éclairage, verte, comporte une prise décodeur 6 broches NEM 651, deux interrupteurs : S1 pour les fanaux, S2 pour l’éclairage. Ces interrupteurs devraient être assez faciles à remplacer par des ILS, du moins pour l’éclairage, car les deux sont regroupés. Réglage d’intensité lumineuse par résistance ajustable. Photo.Circuit d’éclairage

L’aménagement a un sol gris foncé ; les banquettes de type autorail sont gris clair. Les poignées de maintien ne sont pas argentées. Il n’y a pas d’évocation des portes sur les cloisons d’extrémité.

Modifications

  • Pose de un ou deux ILS bistables en parallèle avec les interrupteurs de la réglette d’éclairage pour commande depuis l’extérieur. Photo.ILS de commande
  • Remplacement des évents (« aérateurs ») de toiture par des pièces un peu plus grosses (⌀ 0,5 au lieu de 0,3) et de forme plus correcte. Photo avant-après.Évent de toiture, avant - après
  • Amincissement des lamelles de contact entre bogie et châssis, de façon à permettre l’assise correcte des voitures sur leurs bogies.

Historique

Ces voitures proviennent de la métallisation entre 1957 et 1962 de 676 anciennes voitures TY construites de 1907 à 1923 pour la plupart des anciennes compagnies. Ces travaux ont été réalisés pour partie dans les ateliers SNCF de Romilly, d’où le surnom attribué à ces voitures. Elles étaient munies à l’origine de bogies « wagons-lits » (photo), mais certaines ont été équipées plus tardivement de bogies Pennsylvania Y2 ou Y16. Retrait de service entre 1978 et 1985.

Documents

  • Loco-Revue no 512 (02/89) p. 146.
  • Loco-Revue hors série 2005-01, p. 38.
  • Article Wikipédia.

Voitures Est « Romilly » ensemble EPMVoitures Est « Romilly » ensemble EPM

B9½tz Est EPMB9½tz Est EPM

B7dtz Romilly

Cliché anonyme sur trains-en-vadrouille.com.

B7Dt Est EPMB7Dt Est EPM

B7Dt Romilly

Cliché Loco-Revue.

Cotes Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 19 280 221,6 221,6
Longueur châssis 17 950 206,3 205,7
Largeur caisse 2 958 34,0 34,0
Hauteur 3 945 45,3 46,1
Distance pivots 12 100 139,1 139,7
Empattement bogie (WL) 2 500 28,7 28,9
Diamètre roues 1 050 12,1 12,0
D B U
1,0 14,4
à 14,5
23,2
Effectif des voitures Romilly au 1er janvier 1976
(document présenté par EC64 sur le forum Loco Revue).
Type Est Nord Ouest S-O S-E
A10½tz 3 21
A5Btz 49 10 2 16 8
Btz 298 54 12 45 86
B7Dt 26 11 1 9 16