XR 7487 railcar trailer REE

Original page created on 31/07/2023 ; last modified on 19/09/2023.

Brand - Reference

REE VB-444

Type

Unified railcar trailer XRABD 7300.

Number Revision date
XRABD 7487 LD 14.9.73
Home base: Lille

Weight

113 g (NEM : 98 to 127 g)

Comments

Out of the box, I can see that this pretty model has much more accurate colours than the Roco. See comparison photo. The handrails are obviously metal. There is a large lamp on the left side of each end, plus two smaller ones at the top (not functional, due to the era IV). There are no spring buffers (good for me).Comparison REE - Roco

The trailer is supplied with one end without a functional coupling and with a buffer beam fitted with air hoses and a complete metal screw coupling, detailed but not articulated. The other end has a functional coupling. As a result, the skirt under the buffer beam is missing: the functional coupling is incompatible with the complete skirt, which is a pity. The removable skirts are less discreet than on the Roco: the joint with the fixed part is very visible. Photo.Jupe d’extrémité

The bogies have insulated half-axles and conductive bearings. The current is transmitted by tongues resting on blades in the chassis, as on the B5D SE, but apparently more flexible. Photo. There is a dynamo under one of the bogies. Wheel set characteristics: see table opposite.Electrified bogie

Removing the body is easy, but not as easy as advertised in the manual: it’s better with the help of plastic cards in the area of the four small, easy-to-spot lugs. The body spreads a little from the chassis. The interior fittings are nice. The only thing missing is a touch of silver on the seat handles in 2nd class, and (but I’m not sure) white headrests in 1st class. Photo.Interior fittings

The lighting PCB sits in a “false ceiling” through which seven LEDs shine. This part is completely warped at the ends, which flare out into a tee shape, presumably for the lighting of the small lamps in the era III versions. Given the deformation, I’m afraid the lights won’t face the holes! Photos, end 1, end 2. What’s more, the PCB tends to come out of the support because the centring pins are too small, or they should have been hot crushed, or the PCB should have been screwed to its support, which is screwed to the fittings. Here again, REE-la-différence has struck! It would have been better to have a false ceiling of constant or almost constant width along its entire length, and therefore more rigid.Warped PCB support, compartment endWarped PCB support, luggage end

One last thing: I can’t see where the control board (ref. XB-PCB-XR-02) promised by REE will be connected: there are no connectors, apart from the two linking the strip to the chassis.

For these reasons, I’m thinking of replacing the original lighting with my own strip, already used in the Roco, controlled by an ESU Lokpilot 5 FX decoder. On the face of it, it’ll be fairly easy. Photo for the Roco. I’m also going to look into the possibility of a functional coupling passing under the full skirt, as I did for the Roco trailers and for the Picasso Mistral.Lighting strip for the Roco trailer

See the Loco-Revue Forum.

Modifications

Replacing the original lighting strip with one of my own design, which allows the use of a function decoder with 21MTC connector.

History

All types included, 692 of the unified XR 7300, 7800 and 8100 bogie railcar trailers were built between 1952 and 1962 by Decauville, Compagnie Générale de Construction, Compagnie Française de Matériel de Chemin de Fer and Soulé.

These trailers are often misleadingly referred to as “Decauville” trailers, as the real Decauville XR 6000 and 7200 trailers were built just before and just after the 2nd World War, and served as a kind of prototype.

The 7487 is part of the 7353 to 7581 series with a small luggage compartment (6.7 m2), manufactured from 1952 to 1960. This series was mixed 1st class (12 seats) and 2nd class (65 seats) (XRABD).

Quote from Loco-Revue No. 67 c 15.

This type of railcar trailer represents the most widespread model on the SNCF network. Of lighter construction than the classic passenger coaches, it is intended exclusively for railcar traffic.

All these trailers are similar with some exceptions. They are subdivided into several sub-series according to their interior fittings, their general characteristics being identical.

They are intended to be towed by medium power railcars (from 300 hp (220 kW) up to 825 hp (605 kW) in order to increase the capacity offered by these railcars on certain lines, using the available power.

The possible compositions vary with the power of the traction unit(s) and the profile of the line to be covered — a maximum of 4 trailers can be reached in some cases with one or two railcars.

Documents

XRBD 7487 REE, end #1XRBD 7487 REE, end #1

XRBD 7487 REE, end #2XRBD 7487 REE, end #2

XR 7800 trailer

Anonymous photo on Train Consultant.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 21 192 243.6 243.5
Chassis length 19 862 228.3
Width 2 924 33.6 34.0
Height 3 179 36.5 36.3
Pivot distance 15 850 182.2 181.8
Bogie wheelbase 2 200 25.3 24.6
Wheel diameter 860 9.9 10.0
D B U
0.7 14.5 22.7

Document available as a PDF.
If you are interested, please let me know by e-mail,
specifying the title of the document-s.
For conditions, see page
Loco-Revue documentary sheets. .

Page créée le 31/07/2023  ; dernière modification le 19/09/2023.

Marque - Référence

REE VB-444

Type

XRABD 7300, remorque d’autorail unifiée.

Numéro Date de révision
XRABD 7487 LD 14.9.73
Attache : Lille

Masse

113 g (NEM : 98 à 127 g)

Commentaires

En sortie de boîte, je constate que ce joli modèle a des couleurs nettement plus justes que la Roco. Photo comparative. Les mains montoires sont évidemment rapportées, en métal. Il y a un gros fanal à gauche par bout, plus deux petits en haut (non fonctionnels, époque IV oblige). Il n’y a pas de tampons à ressort (tant mieux pour moi).Comparaison REE - Roco

La remorque est livrée avec une extrémité sans attelage fonctionnel et avec traverse équipée des raccords d’air et d’un attelage à vis métallique complet, détaillé mais pas articulé. L’autre extrémité comporte un attelage fonctionnel. Par conséquent, la jupe sous traverse est absente : l’attelage fonctionnel est incompatible avec les bas de caisse complets, dommage. Les jupes amovibles sont moins discrètes que sur la Roco : le joint avec la partie fixe est très visible. Photo.Jupe d’extrémité

Les bogies ont des essieux à demi-axes isolés et des paliers conducteurs. La transmission du courant se fait par languettes s’appuyant sur des lames dans le châssis, comme sur la B5D SE, mais apparemment plus souples. Photo. Il y a une dynamo sous l’un des bogies. Caractéristiques des essieux : voir tableau ci-contre.Bogie électrifié

Le levage de la caisse est facile, mais pas autant qu’annoncé dans la notice : cela va mieux à l’aide de cartes en plastique au niveau des quatre petits ergots faciles à repérer. La caisse bâille un peu. L’aménagement est joli. Il ne manque qu’une touche argentée sur les poignées des sièges en 2e classe, et (mais je n’en suis pas sûr) des têtières blanches en 1re. Photo.Aménagement intérieur

Le circuit imprimé d’éclairage repose dans un « faux-plafond » à travers lequel sept LED éclairent. Cette pièce est complètement gauchie aux extrémités, qui s’évasent en forme de té, je présume pour l’éclairage des petits fanaux dans les versions époque III. Vu la déformation, j’ai peur que les yeux ne soient pas en face des trous ! Photos : extrémité 1, extrémité 2. De plus, le CI tend à sortir du support car les pions de centrage sont trop petits, ou ils auraient dû être écrasés à chaud, ou encore il aurait fallu visser le CI sur son support qui, lui, est vissé sur l’aménagement. Ici encore, REE-la-différence a frappé ! Il aurait mieux valu un faux plafond de largeur constante ou presque sur toute sa longueur, et donc plus rigide.Support de CI déformé, côté compartimentSupport de CI déformé, côté fourgon

Dernière chose : je ne vois pas où se raccordera la plaquette de commande (réf. XB-PCB-XR-02) promise par REE : il n’y a aucun connecteur, à part les deux reliant la réglette au châssis.

Pour ces raisons, j’envisage de remplacer l’éclairage d’origine par une réglette personnelle, déjà mise en œuvre dans les Roco, commandée par un décodeur ESU Lokpilot 5 FX. À première vue, ce sera assez facile. Photo pour la Roco. Je vais aussi étudier la possibilité d’un attelage fonctionnel passant sous la jupe complète, comme je l’ai fait pour les remorques Roco et pour le Picasso Mistral.Réglette d’éclairage pour remorque Roco

Voir le Forum Loco-Revue.

Modifications

Remplacement de la réglette d’éclairage originelle par une de ma conception, qui permet l’utilisation d’un décodeur de fonction avec connecteur 21MTC.

Historique

Tous types compris, les remorques d’autorail unifiées à bogies XR 7300, 7800 et 8100 ont été construites de 1952 à 1962, à 692 exemplaires, par Decauville, Compagnie Générale de Construction, Compagnie Française de Matériel de Chemin de Fer et Soulé.

Ces remorques sont souvent appelées « Decauville » par abus de langage, les véritables remorques Decauville XR 6000 et 7200 ayant été construites juste avant et juste après la 2e guerre mondiale, et leur ayant servi en quelque sorte de prototype.

La 7487 fait partie de la série 7353 à 7581 avec petit compartiment fourgon (6,7 m2), fabriquée de 1952 à 1960. Cette série était mixte 1re classe (12 places) et 2e classe (65 places) (XRABD).

Citation de la fiche Loco-Revue no 67 c 15.

Ce type de remorque pour autorails représente le modèle le plus répandu sur le réseau SNCF. De construction plus légère que le matériel à voyageurs classique, il est destiné exclusivement au trafic autorail.

Toutes ces remorques sont semblables à quelques détails près. Elles se subdivisent en plusieurs sous-séries selon leurs aménagements intérieurs, leurs caractéristiques générales étant identiques.

Elles sont destinées à être remorquées par des autorails de puissance moyenne (à partir de 300 ch (220 kW) jusqu'à 825 ch (605 kW)) dans le but d’augmenter la capacité offerte par ces autorails sur certaines lignes en utilisant la puissance disponible.

Les compositions possibles varient avec la puissance du ou des engins de traction et le profil de la ligne à parcourir — un maximum de 4 remorques pouvant être atteint dans certains cas avec un ou deux autorails.

Documents

XRBD 7487 REE, extrémité 1XRBD 7487 REE, extrémité 1

XRBD 7487 REE, extrémité 2XRBD 7487 REE, extrémité 2

Remorque XR 7800

Cliché anonyme sur Train Consultant.

Cotes Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 21 192 243,6 243,5
Longueur châssis 19 862 228,3
Largeur caisse 2 924 33,6 34,0
Hauteur 3 179 36,5 36,3
Distance pivots 15 850 182,2 181,8
Empattement bogie 2 200 25,3 24,6
Diamètre roues 860 9,9 10.0
D B U
0,7 14,5 22,7

Document disponible au format PDF.
Si vous êtes intéressé(e), faites-le moi savoir par e-mail,
en précisant l’intitulé du ou des documents.
Pour les conditions, voir la page
Fiches documentaires Loco-Revue. .