New lighting strip for REE unified railcar trailer

Original page created on 06/09/2023 ; last modified on 15/10/2023.

REE unified railcar trailer, profile view

REE unified railcar trailer, profile view (before modification).

Observation

A few of us found the lighting solution adopted by REE for its unified trailer, which is otherwise very successful, bizarre. Not possible to swap the tail lamps, no lighting control. A specific PCB for the DCC has been announced, but when and at what price? Also, this very narrow strip and its support are completely warped, at least on my trailer.

As I had designed a strip for Roco trailers, I decided to adapt it to the REE model.

First tests with a Roco trailer strip

I started by dismantling the body, with no particular difficulty, then the interior fittings (four clips on each side), then I discovered the wiring: all grey and black wires! Where I would have liked to see red and black for the track, and blue, white and yellow for the lights, all I saw was grey! Sad! And not easy to spot!

Trailer, dismantled layout

Roll over the image with your mouse to see the details.

The wires in the 4-pole connector (the one for the lanterns) are too short to be reused. So, instead of cutting these wires and extending them, I’m going to rewire the whole thing using standard colours:

To connect them to the new wires, the lamp circuits are easily removed from the chassis.

Here’s the new look once the interior is back in place.

Trailer’s chassis rewired

Here’s how it looks with the Roco trailer strip. A little adaptation was enough for conclusive tests. There are two 330 µF capacitors wired in parallel. Note that I had to remove their sheaths to be able to insert them between the walls (the gain is about 0.5 mm).

Wiring the strip, to the front

There’s a slight improvement in terms of maintaining lighting when the power supply is cut, to the order of one second. Better than nothing, and certainly better than with the original REE strip.

New strip

Once these tests had been validated, I made a new strip specifically for the REE trailer, in particular for the fixing, but Roco compatible (hence the multiple notches visible on the edges).

Here are some strips with the 21MTC connector soldered on. I first tried hot-air soldering, but I was a bit surprised: the connector moved as if on ice!

Finally, with a very thin, pointed tip, soldering with an iron works very well: start by soldering two diagonally opposite tabs. Once the connector is fixed in this way, make the other solder joints.

New strip with its MTC21 connector

Click on the image to zoom in.

Note the keying position indicated by the cut pin (no. 11), shown on the silk-screen print.

Fitting the strip

On the fastening side, which is the original one, I inserted a 1 mm thick washer (arrow) to even out the height of the circuit. You can of course use plastic card of the same thickness.

Fixing the strip on the van side

Click on the image to zoom in.

On the toilet side, you can see the capacitors “surface mounted”, with a simple 90° bend of their wires. Their pads were designed for through-hole mounting, but in the end it's much simpler this way. The capacitor on the left needs to be flush with the underside of the board, so the bend height of its wires needs to be about 1 mm. This way, it passes over the interior fittings.

Placement of capacitors in toilets

Click on the image to zoom in.

Connection

From their exit from under the fittings, the wires pass behind the capacitors, then into the hole in the PCB provided for this purpose. There’s no longer any need to apply Blu-Tack, as I did when I first tried this out.

It may be that the capacitor on the left, placed higher up to pass over the fittings, is preventing the body from being put back into place, because of a conflict with the part representing the curtains (see arrows). Personally, I solved this problem by cutting this part at toilet level: it doesn’t detract from its holding, and it’s perfectly invisible.

Cutting out the curtains

Another solution would be to cut out the part of the fittings that held a fixing screw for the original strip. This would allow the capacitor to be placed lower down. However, this would involve more work and, in my opinion, would detract more visibly from the original appearance.

Note that the absence of a fixing on this end is not a problem: the capacitors, which are well fitted in the toilet, do the job very well. The strip is horizontal, which was not the case with the original…

Decoder

The decoder outputs are wired as follows:

Here’s a view of the fitted decoder (ESU Lokpilot 5 FX in my case). Caution: a longer decoder could hide the van lighting LED, visible at the end of the strip.

View of the decoder under the strip

Click on the image to zoom in.

Conclusion

The only drawback, to my eyes, is that the connector can be seen from the side… But would it be possible to install a Next18, which takes up less height, above the circuit? I’m not sure, because there’s not much room under the roof. In any case, I wouldn’t be able to solder such a connector.

Trailer profile view

Good luck to my friends on the forum who are going to wire these strips!

Nouvelle réglette pour la remorque d’autorail unifiée REE

Page créée le 06/09/2023  ; dernière modification le 15/10/2023.

Remorque d’autorail unifiée REE vue de profil

Remorque d’autorail unifiée REE (avant modification).

Le constat

Nous sommes quelques-uns à avoir trouvé bizarre la solution d’éclairage adoptée par REE pour sa remorque unifiée, très réussie par ailleurs. Pas de changement de bout possible pour les fanaux, pas de commande de l’éclairage. Une carte spécifique pour le DCC a été annoncée, mais pour quand et à quel prix ? D’autre part, cette réglette et son support, très étroits, sont complètement gauchis, en tout cas sur mon exemplaire.

Comme j’avais conçu une réglette pour les remorques Roco, je me suis mis en tête de l’adapter au modèle REE.

Premiers essais avec une réglette pour remorque Roco

Je commence par démonter la caisse, sans difficulté particulière, puis l’aménagement intérieur (quatre clips de chaque côté), je découvre le câblage : que des fils gris et noirs ! Là où j’aurais aimé voir du rouge et du noir pour les rails, du bleu, du blanc et du jaune pour les feux, que du gris ! Triste ! Et pas facile pour le repérage !

Remorque, aménagement démonté

Parcourez l’image avec la souris pour en voir les détails.

Les fils du connecteur 4 pôles (celui des fanaux) sont trop courts pour être réutilisés. Donc, au lieu de sectionner ces fils et de les prolonger, je vais recâbler l’ensemble avec des couleurs normalisées :

Pour leur raccordement aux nouveaux fils, les circuits de fanaux sont facilement extraits du châssis.

Voici le nouvel aspect une fois l’aménagement remis en place.

Remorque, châssis recâblé

Voici maintenant l’aspect avec la réglette pour remorque Roco. Un peu d’adaptation a suffi pour des essais concluants. Il y a deux condensateurs de 330 µF câblés en parallèle. Notez que j’ai été obligé de retirer leur gaine pour pouvoir les insérer entre les parois (le gain est d’environ 0,5 mm).

Câblage de la réglette, vers l’avant

Le maintien de l’éclairage en cas de coupure d’alimentation est un peu amélioré, de l’ordre de 1 s. C’est mieux que rien, et c’est mieux en tout cas qu’avec la réglette d’origine REE.

Nouvelle réglette

Une fois ces essais validés, j’ai refait une réglette spécifique à la remorque REE, en particulier pour la fixation, mais compatible Roco (d’où les multiples encoches visibles sur les bords).

Voici des réglettes avec leur connecteur 21MTC soudé. J’ai d’abord essayé le soudage à l’air chaud, mais j’ai eu quelques surprises : le connecteur se déplaçait comme sur de la glace !

Finalement, avec une panne très fine et pointue, le soudage au fer se fait très bien : commencer par souder deux pattes diagonalement opposées. Une fois le connecteur ainsi fixé, faire les autres soudures.

Nuvelle réglette avc son connecteur MTC21

Cliquez sur l’image pour zoomer.

Noter la position de détrompage matérialisée par la broche coupée (n° 11), rappelée sur la sérigraphie.

Montage de la réglette

Côté fixation, qui est celle d’origine, j’ai interposé une rondelle de 1 mm d’épaisseur (flèche) pour égaliser la hauteur du circuit. On peut bien sûr utiliser de la carte plastique de la même épaisseur.

Fixation de la réglette côté fourgon

Cliquez sur l’image pour zoomer.

Côté toilettes, on peut voir les condensateurs « montés en surface », avec un simple pliage de leurs fils à 90°. Leurs pastilles étaient prévues pour un montage traversant, mais c’est finalement beaucoup plus simple comme ça. Le condensateur de gauche doit être à ras sous la carte, donc la hauteur de pliage de ses fils doit être d’environ 1 mm. De cette façon, il passe au-dessus de l’aménagement intérieur.

Positin des condensateurs dans les toilettes

Cliquez sur l’image pour zoomer.

Raccordement

À partir de leur sortie sous l’aménagement, les fils passent derrière les condensateurs, puis dans le trou du circuit prévu à cet effet. Il n’y a plus besoin de mettre de la patafix comme je l’avais fait au début lors de mes premiers essais.

Il se peut que le condensateur de gauche, placé plus haut pour passer au-dessus de l’aménagement, empêche la remise en place de la caisse, à cause d’un conflit avec la pièce représentant les rideaux (voir les flèches). Personnellement, j’ai résolu ce problème en coupant cette pièce au niveau des toilettes : ça ne diminue en rien sa tenue, et c’est parfaitement invisible.

Découpe de la pièce représentant les rideaux

Une autre solution serait de couper la partie de l’aménagement qui recevait une vis de fixation pour la réglette d’origine. Ainsi, on peut placer le condensateur plus bas. Cependant, cela fait plus de travail et dégrade à mon avis de façon plus voyante l’aspect d’origine.

Noter que l’absence de fixation de ce côté n’est pas gênante : les condensateurs bien calés dans les toilettes y pourvoient très bien. La réglette est bien horizontale, ce qui n’était pas le cas avec l’originale…

Décodeur

Le câblage des sorties du décodeur est le suivant :

Voici une vue du décodeur monté (ESU Lokpilot 5 FX en ce qui me concerne). Attention : un décodeur plus long pourrait masquer la LED d’éclairage du fourgon, visible à l’extrémité de la réglette.

Vue du décodeur sous la réglette

Cliquez sur l’image pour zoomer.

Conclusion

Le seul inconvénient, à mes yeux, est que le connecteur se voit de profil… Mais serait-il possible d’installer un Next18, moins encombrant en hauteur, au-dessus du circuit ? Rien n’est moins sûr, car la place sous le toit est comptée. De toute façon, je serais bien incapable de souder un tel connecteur.

Bon courage aux amis du forum qui vont câbler ces réglettes.