Tools (7) :
Soldering station
Yihua 8786D

Original page created on 15/06/2023; last modified on 23/06/2023.

Soldering station “two-in-one”

My brave old JBC Ironmatic soldering iron from… forty years ago is showing signs of fatigue: set to full power (500 °C), the temperature is struggling to reach 250 °C! As for finding parts… What’s more, the hot air gun I bought a year and a half ago is already out of action (with the promise of an out-of-warranty replacement still a long way off).

So I’m looking for a new combined station: soldering iron and hot air gun.

As is often the case, comparison websites are more like advertisements, especially for Amazon (I’m angry with them), than genuine technical tests. They simply repeat what the sellers write on their websites.

There’s no point looking at the famous brands, JBC, Weller, etc., because they’ll be overpriced. For example, the NASE-2A JBC TOOLS 70 W station, which does not include a soldering iron, costs around €2,000. With incomparable quality and equipment, I’m glad to say…

A little research on the Internet

Here’s the result of a quick web search. It turns out that several stations have similar characteristics, so much so that some seem to have come out of the same workshops…

So I ordered the Yihua station from AliExpress. I chose the “package 3” with all the accessories, even though some of them are obviously of poor quality, or I already own them. But that doesn’t add much to the price and, as they say, you can always use it…

After 20 days, when the parcel tracking system had been frozen for 13 days, it arrived unannounced and without any external packaging! So the brand and contents were there for all to see…

The box before unpacking.

The box before unpacking

The station.

The station

The accessories.

The accessories

List of equipment supplied (“package 3”)

The contents of the package are as follows:

First impressions

the metal (apart from the front panel) casing gives a good impression of robustness. There’s a main switch at the back, which is located to the top, so easy to operate blind. On the front, there’s a separate switch for each function, iron and air.

The 1 m long mains cable cannot be disconnected. The input is protected by a 5 × 20 glass 6.3 A fast fuse. The metal parts of the iron and the gun are properly connected to earth.

The instructions, in English, are fairly precise and correct in terms of language.

Front view.

Front view

Rear view.

Rear view

Soldering iron

Soldering iron

The 90 cm long cable is connected by a quality round connector, lockable by a threaded socket, but it holds well without it. It will be easier to disconnect the cable for storage.

Two screws are provided to fix the iron support above the enclosure. I tried it, but this is not practical, too high up. It would have been better on the side.

Hot air gun

Hot air gun

This gun is relatively easy to handle: the handle diameter is 32 mm. It is permanently connected to the control box. The cable is 85 cm long and fairly flexible. The gun is stored on the support permanently attached to the left of the control box. Once it has been placed — it’s easy — on its support, the gun is held securely and there is no risk of it tipping over. This is preferable…

Soldering iron test

The temperature displayed rises quickly, very quickly… So quickly that I’m thinking it would need an enormous amount of instantaneous power to achieve it. Odd…

Checking the temperature

With my multimeter fitted with its thermocouple, placed at the end of the tip, I noticed that:

Table of temperatures obtained

Display (setpoint) 300 350 400 450 480
Actual temperature 250 270 295 350 300
Delta −25 −20 −105 −100 −180

Remarks:

The difference between the set temperature and the obtained temperature, which is sometimes enormous, is probably due to the fact that the iron temperature sensor is located in the heating element, not at the end of the soldering tip. Nevertheless, the manufacturer should take this into account.

Fortunately, it is possible to calibrate the temperature. We’ll see in the hot air gun test. However, if you don’t have a suitable thermometer, the temperatures obtained will be unreliable, to the extent that you won’t be able to melt tin alloy at a supposed 250 °C. In that case, you’ll have to proceed by trial and error.

Hot air gun test

The heating stops automatically when the gun is placed on its support (it’s a bit mysterious, I didn’t see any contact… Perhaps a reed switch?) A good point for safety. You can also press a small button in the centre of the case to put it into standby mode. As with the iron, the temperature rises fairly quickly, but not as much as the display claims. There’s a form of cheating here, let’s not be afraid to say it.

The airflow is adjustable, but not violent, even when set to maximum.

First test

The thermocouple weld is placed in the centre of the nozzle. The air flow is set to maximum. I see a difference of +25 °C on average compared with the display.

Display (setpoint) 100 150 200 250 300 350 400 450
Actual temperature 125 175 223 272 323 376 428 477
Delta 25 25 23 22 23 26 28 27

Here, the display error is much more acceptable than for the iron. Nevertheless, I’m going to carry out a calibration, if only to test this function.

Calibration

First, of course, you need to note down the actual temperature obtained. For example, here, for a setpoint of 300 °C, the value is 323 °C. To switch to calibration mode, press the two arrow-shaped adjustment buttons simultaneously for at least 1 second. The display will show the figures separated by dots. The desired temperature can then be set by pressing the same buttons. To return to the normal display, simply press the two buttons at the same time again.

Calibration done, the result is better, but there are still some abnormal points.

Display (setpoint) 100 150 200 250 300 350 400 450
Actual temperature 104 148 190 249 301 362 423 476
Delta +4 −2 −10 −1 +1 +12 +23 +26

Different tests (going up or down) give (slightly) different results. It’s not perfect, but it’s very suitable for the applications planned, such as soldering or desoldering SMD components, or shrinking heat-shrink tubing.

Warning: if you reduce the air flow, the temperature will rise above the set point. The regulation is far from perfect.

Is it possible to do multiple calibrations at different temperatures? I put the question to the seller, but I still haven’t received an answer three months later! I don’t want to start a new calibration only to find that the previous one is out of order… Temperature tests take long enough not to add to the work.

Provisional conclusion

I haven’t used this soldering station intensively yet. For the time being, I’m happy with it, once I’ve corrected the setting faults, especially with the soldering iron.

Atten ST-8802
Iron 65 W, hot air 800 W
Price 2023: €156
at TME.

Saike
Iron 60 W, hot air 760 W
Price 2023: €101
at Ali Express.

Stamos S-LS-4
Iron 60 W, hot air 650 W
Price 2023: €109
at Ebay.

Yihua 8786D
Total power 750 W
Price 2023:
€80 at Ali Express,
€82 at Amazon.

Outils (7) : station de soudage Yihua 8786D

Page créée le 15/06/2023 ; dernière modification le 23/06/2023.

Station de soudage « deux en un »

Mon brave fer à souder JBC Ironmatic d’il y a … quarante ans donne des signes de fatigue : réglée à fond (500 °C), la température monte péniblement à 250 °C ! Quant à trouver des pièces… D’autre part, le pistolet à air chaud acheté il y a un an et demi est déjà HS (avec promesse de remplacement hors garantie qui se fait attendre).

Je me mets donc à la recherche d’une nouvelle station mixte : fer à souder et pistolet.

Comme souvent, les sites de comparaison ressemblent plus à des publicités, surtout pour Amazon (je suis fâché avec eux), qu’à de véritables tests techniques. Ils se contentent de répéter ce qu’écrivent les vendeurs sur leurs sites.

Inutile de chercher dans les grandes marques connues, JBC, Weller, etc. Ce sera hors de prix. Par exemple, la station NASE-2A JBC TOOLS 70 W, ne comprenant pas de fer à souder, est à environ 2 000 €. Avec une qualité et des équipements incomparables, encore heureux…

Petite recherche sur Internet

Voici le résultat d’une petite recherche sur le web. Il en ressort que plusieurs stations ont des caractéristiques proches, à tel point que certaines semblent sorties des mêmes ateliers…

J’ai donc commandé la station Yihua chez AliExpress. J’ai choisi le « package 3 » avec tous les accessoires, bien que certains soient visiblement de piètre qualité ou que je les possède déjà. Mais ça ne majore que très peu le prix et ça pourra toujours servir, comme on dit…

Au bout de 20 jours, alors que le suivi de colis était resté figé pendant 13 jours, elle est arrivée sans préavis et sans emballage extérieur ! Donc marque et contenu visible par tous…

La boîte avant déballage.

La station avant déballage

La station.

La station

Les accessoires.

Les accessoires

Liste du matériel fourni (« package 3 »)

Voici le contenu de la livraison :

Premières impressions

À part la face avant, le boîtier est métallique et donne une bonne impression de robustesse. Il y a un interrupteur général à l’arrière, situé vers le haut, donc facilement actionnable à l’aveugle. Sur la face avant, il y a un interrupteur séparé pour chaque fonction, fer et air.

Le câble secteur, de 1 m, n’est pas déconnectable. L’entrée est protégée par un fusible rapide 5 × 20 en verre de 6,3 A. Les parties métalliques du fer et du pistolet sont bien reliées à la prise de terre.

Le mode d’emploi, en anglais, est assez précis et correct au point de vue de la langue.

Vue de face.

Vue de face

Vue d’arrière.

Vue d’arrière

Fer à souder

Fer à souder

Le câble de 90 cm est raccordé par connecteur rond de qualité, verrouillable par douille vissante, mais ça tient bien sans cette dernière. Ce sera plus pratique pour débrancher le câble pour le rangement.

La fixation du support de fer au-dessus du boîtier, par deux vis, est prévue. J’ai essayé, mais ce n’est pas pratique, trop haut. Cela aurait été mieux sur le côté.

Pistolet à air chaud

Pistolet à air chaud

Ce pistolet est relativement maniable : le diamètre de la poignée est de 32 mm. Il est raccordé de manière fixe au boîtier de commande. Le câble, assez souple, a une longueur de 85 cm. Le pistolet se range sur le support fixé à demeure à gauche du boîtier. Une fois posé — facilement — sur son support, le pistolet est bien maintenu et ne risque pas de basculer. C’est préférable…

Essai du fer à souder

La température affichée monte vite, très vite… Tellement vite que je me dis qu’il faudrait une puissance instantanée énorme pour y parvenir. Il y a un loup…

Contrôle de la température

Avec mon multimètre muni de son thermocouple, placé à la pointe de la panne, je constate que :

Tableau des températures obtenues

Affichage (consigne) 300 350 400 450 480
Température réelle 250 270 295 350 300
Delta −25 −20 −105 −100 −180

Remarques :

La différence entre la consigne et la température obtenue, parfois énorme, s’explique probablement par le fait que la sonde de température du fer se trouve dans le corps de chauffe, et non au bout de la panne. Néanmoins, le fabricant devrait en tenir compte.

Heureusement, il est possible de calibrer la température. Nous allons le voir dans l’essai du pistolet à air chaud. Il n’empêche que, pour qui n’a pas de thermomètre adapté, les températures obtenues ne seront pas fiables, au point de ne pas pouvoir faire fondre de l’alliage d’étain en affichant 250 °C. Il faudra alors procéder par tâtonnements.

Essai du pistolet à air chaud

Le chauffage s’arrête automatiquement quand le pistolet est posé sur son support (c’est mystérieux : je n’ai pas vu de contact… Peut-être un ILS ?) Un bon point pour la sécurité. Il est possible aussi d’appuyer sur un petit bouton au centre du boîtier pour mettre en mode veille. De même que pour le fer, la température monte assez vite, mais pas autant que le suggère l’afficheur. Il y a ici une forme de tricherie, n’ayons pas peur de le dire.

Le flux d’air est réglable, mais pas violent même réglé au maximum.

Premier essai

La soudure du thermocouple est placée au centre de la buse. Le débit d’air est réglé au maximum. Je constate un décalage de + 25 °C en moyenne par rapport à l’affichage.

Affichage (consigne) 100 150 200 250 300 350 400 450
Température réelle 125 175 223 272 323 376 428 477
Delta 25 25 23 22 23 26 28 27

L’erreur d’affichage est ici beaucoup plus acceptable que pour le fer. Néanmoins, je vais effectuer une calibration, ne serait-ce qu’à titre de test de cette fonction.

Calibration

D’abord, il faut bien sûr noter la température réelle obtenue. Par exemple, ici, pour une consigne de 300 °C, la valeur est de 323 °C. Pour passer en mode calibration, appuyer simultanément au moins 1 seconde sur les deux boutons de réglage en forme de flèche. L’afficheur indique alors les chiffres séparés par des points. En agissant sur les mêmes boutons, on peut alors régler la température voulue. Pour revenir à l’affichage normal, il suffit d’appuyer de nouveau sur les deux boutons en même temps.

Calibration faite, le résultat est meilleur, mais il reste des points anormaux.

Affichage (consigne) 100 150 200 250 300 350 400 450
Température réelle 104 148 190 249 301 362 423 476
Delta +4 −2 −10 −1 +1 +12 +23 +26

Différents essais (en montant ou descendant) donnent des résultats (un peu) différents. Ce n’est pas parfait, mais c’est très convenable pour les applications envisagées, telles que soudage ou dessoudage de composants CMS, ou rétreint de gaine thermorétractable.

Attention : si on réduit le débit d’air, la température dépasse la consigne. La régulation n’est pas parfaite, loin de là.

Est-ce qu’il est possible de faire des calibrations multiples à des températures différentes ? J’ai posé la question au vendeur, je n’ai toujours pas reçu de réponse trois mois plus tard ! Je n’ai pas envie de recommencer une calibration pour constater que la précédente est déréglée… Les essais de température sont assez longs pour ne pas en rajouter.

Conclusion provisoire

Je n’ai pas utilisé cette station de soudage intensivement jusqu’à présent. Pour le moment, elle me donne satisfaction, après avoir corrigé les défauts de réglage, surtout pour le fer à souder.

Atten ST-8802
Fer 65 W, air chaud 800 W
Prix 2023 : 156 €
chez TME.

Saike
Fer 60 W, air chaud 760 W
Prix 2023 : 101 €
chez Ali Express.

Stamos S-LS-4
Fer 60 W, air chaud 650 W
Prix 2023 : 109 €
chez Ebay.

Yihua 8786D
Puissance totale 750 W
Prix 2023 :
80 € chez Ali Express,
82 € chez Amazon.