EVS Lailps 3-axle flat wagon with tarpaulin Jouef

Original page created on 09/06/2023; last modified on 26/07/2023.

Brand - Reference

Jouef HJ6237

Type

EVS Lailps flat wagon with tarpaulin

UIC Number Revision Date
21 87 421 6 088-8 P 13.10.85
Home base: Pompey

Weight

151 g (NEM: 123 to 159 g).

Comments

Wagon in period IVb (after 1980). The scale is loosely respected (see dimensions table). In particular, this wagon is far too wide. It is a curious mixture of fineness and … less fineness, to be kind — although, for the price, you don’t necessarily want to be kind…

In fact, the ends are very detailed, with numerous attached parts: photoetched ladders, handles, tarpaulin locking rods, etc. On the other hand, there are no towing hooks or brake hoses, nor space for them. The manoeuvring steps are moulded into the chassis. Photo.Three-quarter front view

There are no attached part on the underside, which takes us back at least fifteen years (personally, I don’t mind too much, but you could have hoped for better for the price). Photo.Frame underside

The central axle is not equipped with an elongation system, as Roco was able to do on its TA378 STVA (which, if I’ve understood correctly, SNAV took over for the Laps). Instead, there is a system of crossed links to maintain the radiating axle. The running is good.Photo.Radiating central axle

The axle assembly is unusual in industrial equipment, as they have cylindrical spindles rotating in metal plates, like the Hornby-Acho wagons of the 60s. The wheel back-to-back distance is a little small: 14.3 to 14.4. The wheels are a little too small. The flanges are 0.9 mm high.Photo.Axle spindle and sheet metal bearing

While running, I notice a vertical oscillation of one of the half-wagons, at the level of the central axle. This seems due to backlash in the joints.

See the Loco-Revue forum.

Modifications

Reduction in central axle articulation backlash by replacing the M2 shoulder screws with normal screws. Simply tighten them moderately and then loosen them by a quarter turn. Photo.Replacement of the central axle screws

History

21 wagons built in 1974 by the Société nouvelle des ateliers de Vénissieux (SNAV) for the Société d’étude et d’exploitation de wagons spécialisés (EVS). Initially registered Laps 21 87 043 9 000 to 020, from 1980 they received the new UIC numbering Lailps 23 87 421 6 001 to 020 (wagon No. 000 having been sold to Transfesa).

Main characteristics (approx.): tare weight 24 t; useful surface area 70 m2; maximum capacity 200 m3.

Wagons were built for other operators in Italy (Indesit, Ausiliare SPA Milano) and Spain. Spain’s Transfesa has designed and commissioned the construction of similar wagons with interchangeable axles.

Documents

  • Club MFTrain website (in Spanish). See an extract from the article on this site, translated into English.

In 1974, 21 flat wagons of this type were built for the French company EVS, registered with SNCF in 1972 UIC numbering as Laps 21 87 043 9 000 to 020. Later, with the 1980 UIC numbering, they became Lailps 23 87 421 6 001 to 020 (the 000 was sold to Transfesa in 1976).

In 1976, Transfesa bought Laps 21 87 043 9 000 from EVS, as mentioned above. This 000 platform was used as a prototype so that SNAV could develop a specific model which was to include an axle change system. The result was new wagons, externally identical to those previously built for EVS and Indesit, but with the added advantage of being able to be integrated into traffic on the Iberian Peninsula. Transfesa’s final order comprised 47 units.

Following the above orders from EVS, Indesit and Transfesa, the Italian company Ausiliare SPA Milano placed an order with SNAV for a further 40 wagons of this type, which were registered with the Italian railways FS under the name Las 21 83 044 5 1xx (later Lails 23 83 420 7 8xx). Externally, these early EVS Lailps and the Indesit/Transfesa/Ausiliare Lails were identical and known by the nickname “gooseneck”.

From the 1980s onwards, EVS leased and sold a large number of these Lailps wagons to other European companies such as ASG and Flumroc, but they retained their SNCF number plates.

Lailps flat wagon with tarpaulin JouefLailps flat wagon with tarpaulin Jouef

EVS articulated wagon Debach’vit

Photo EVS from mftrain.com.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 26 500 1 304.6 307.0
27 000 1 310.3
Chassis length 25 260 1 290.3 291.1
25 760 1 296.1
Chassis width 2 800 32.2 35.6
Height 3 775 1 43.4 51.7
4 425 1 50.9
Wheelbase 20 840 239.5 240.0
Wheel diameter 920 10.6 10.3
  1. Depending on version

Page créée le 09/06/2023 ; dernière modification le 26/07/2023.

Marque - Référence

Jouef HJ6237

Type

Wagon plat bâché Lailps EVS articulé à 3 essieux

Numéro UIC Date de révision
21 87 421 6 088-8 P 13.10.85
Attache : Pompey

Masse

151 g (NEM : 123 à 159 g).

Commentaires

Wagon en époque IVb (après 1980). L’échelle n’est respectée que de manière relâchée (voir tableau des cotes). En particulier, ce wagon est bien trop large. C’est un curieux mélange de finesse et de … moindre finesse, pour être gentil — quoique, pour le prix, on n’ait pas forcément envie d’être gentil…

En effet, les bouts sont très détaillés, avec de nombreuses pièces rapportées : échelles photodécoupées, poignées, tringles de verrouil­lage des bâches, etc. D’un autre côté, il n’y a ni crochet d’attelage, ni demi accouplements de frein, et aucun emplacement prévu pour cela. Les marchepieds de manœuvre sont moulés avec le châssis. Photo.Vue de trois-quarts face

Les bâches sont patinées. Curieusement, l’une a une bande de salissure nettement plus large que l’autre…

Le dessous ne présente aucune pièce rapportés, cela nous ramène au moins quinze ans en arrière (personnellement, ça ne me dérange pas trop, mais on pouvait espérer mieux pour le prix). Photo.Dessous du châssis

L’essieu central n’est pas équipé d’élongation, comme Roco a su le faire sur ses TA378 STVA (dont, si j’ai bien compris, la SNAV a repris le châssis pour les Laps). À la place, il y a un système de biellettes croisées pour maintenir l’essieu radiant. Photo.Essieu central radiant

Le montage des essieux n’est pas courant en matériel industriel, puisqu’ils ont des fusées cylindriques tournant dans des plaques métalliques, comme les wagons Hornby-Acho des années 60. La distance dos à dos des roues est un peu faible : de 14,3 à 14,4. Les roues sont un peu trop petites. Les boudins ont une hauteur de 0,9 mm. Le roulement est bon. Photo.Fusées d’essieu et paliers en tôle

Au roulage, je constate une oscillation verticale d’un des demi-wagons, au niveau de l’essieu central. Cela semble dû au jeu des articulations de ce dernier.

Voir le forum Loco-Revue.

Modifications

Réduction du jeu d’articulation de l’essieu central par remplacement des vis à épaulement M2 par des vis normales. Il suffit de les bloquer modérément puis de les desserrer d’un quart de tour. Photo.Remplacement des vis de l’essieu central

Historique

Wagons construits à 21 exemplaires en 1974 par la Société nouvelle des ateliers de Vénissieux (SNAV) pour le compte de la Société d’étude et d’exploitation de wagons spécialisés (EVS). D’abord immatriculés Laps 21 87 043 9 000 à 020, ils ont reçu à partir de 1980 la nouvelle numérotation UIC Lailps 23 87 421 6 001 à 020 (le wagon no 000 ayant été vendu à Transfesa).

Caractéristiques principales (environ) : tare 24 t ; surface utile 70 m2 ; capacité maxi 200 m3.

Des wagons ont été construits pour d’autres exploitants en Italie (Indesit, Ausiliare SPA Milano) et en Espagne. La Transfesa espagnole a conçu et fait construire des wagons semblables, avec essieux interchangeables.

Documents

  • Site Club MFTrain (en espagnol). Voir un extrait de l’article de ce site, traduit en français.

En 1974, 21 wagons plats de ce type ont été construits pour la société française EVS, enregistrés à la SNCF en numérotation UIC 1972 sous la dénomination Laps 21 87 043 9 000 à 020. Par la suite, avec la numérotation UIC 1980, ils sont devenus Lailps 23 87 421 6 001 à 020 (le 000 a été vendu à Transfesa en 1976).

En 1976, Transfesa a acheté le Laps 21 87 043 9 000 à EVS, comme mentionné ci-dessus. Cette plate-forme 000 a servi de prototype pour que la SNAV puisse développer un modèle spécifique qui devait inclure un système de changement d’essieu. De nouveaux wagons, extérieurement identiques à ceux construits précédemment pour EVS et Indesit, ont ainsi vu le jour, mais avec l’avantage supplémentaire de pouvoir être intégrées dans les circulations de la péninsule ibérique. La commande finale de Transfesa comprenait 47 unités.

Suite aux commandes susmentionnées d’EVS, Indesit et Transfesa, la société italienne Ausiliare SPA Milano a passé une commande auprès de la SNAV pour 40 wagons supplémentaires de ce type, qui ont été enregistrés auprès des chemins de fer italiens FS sous le nom Las 21 83 044 5 1xx (plus tard Lails 23 83 420 7 8xx). Extérieurement, ces premiers Lailps d’EVS et les Lails d’Indesit / Transfesa / Ausiliare étaient identiques et connus sous le surnom de « gooseneck » (col de cygne).

À partir des années 1980, la société EVS a loué et vendu un grand nombre de ces wagons Lailps à d’autres sociétés européennes telles que ASG ou Flumroc, mais ils ont conservé leurs plaques d’immatriculation SNCF.

Wagon plat bâché Lailps JouefWagon plat bâché Lailps Jouef

Wagon articulé Debach’vit EVS

Cliché EVS extrait de mftrain.com.

Cotes Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 26 500 1 304,6 307,0
27 000 1 310,3
Longueur châssis 25 260 1 290,3 291,1
25 760 1 296,1
Largeur châssis 2 800 32,2 35,6
Hauteur 3 775 1 43,4 51,7
4 425 1 50,9
Empattement 20 840 239,5 240,0
Diamètre roues 920 10,6 10,3
  1. Selon version