Diesel locomotive BB 63901 R37

Original page created on 30/08/2023; last modified on 30/09/2023.

Brand - Reference

R37 HO41111

Type

BB 63901

Weight

221 g

Current @ 12 V DC, before running in

  • At slipping: 0.32 A (fwd) / 0.28 A (rev)
  • Blocked motor: 0.6 A

Comments

I might as well say it straight away : I’m going to be severe given the price of this machine: €280 (in pure DC).

The locomotive is well proportioned, as confirmed by the dimensions table. It feels very light in the hand, and indeed it is (221 g compared with 285 g for the Roco). The handrails are slim and made of flexible material. Articulated screw couplings with a resting hook are supplied, but no simplified hook allowing the joint use of elongation drawbars. By the way, these drawbars can be easily removed (2 screws) if you no longer wish to see the bulky NEM boxes.

Numerous inserted parts, plastic (acoustic cornets, various hooks, windscreen wipers) and metal (bonnet rails and grilles, lifting rings). Beware: some are poorly fixed and can easily slip out (it happened for a grille of the long bonnet, found by chance, and the acoustic cornets).

As reported on the Loco-Revue forum, the machine is “bowed”, by about 0.5 mm. This deformation almost disappears by loosening the body fixing screws, but as they were not very tight originally, they are now somewhat loose. Let’s hope they won’t slip out.

The cab is fitted out, with a nice, fairly detailed console.

The body, decking and external chassis (side beams and buffer beams) form a single piece that can be dismantled with four screws. The interior reveals clean wiring, with multiple spring-loaded pins to connect the PCB attached to the internal chassis, to the various lighting fixtures attached to the body. The motor is fitted with two flywheels. Photo.Dismantled machine

Now for the long list of annoying little flaws:

  • a buffer popped out when I was removing the standard couplings (why were they fitted?), and I can’t get it back in place, as if its housing was half blocked;
  • the left-hand railing on the large bonnet side has a curious deformation, the cause of which is not easy to determine. The decking also appears to be deformed. Photo;Railing — or decking — deformed
  • A registration plate is glued on slightly crookedly, and traces of glue can be seen around it. In addition, these registration plates are simply stamped, whereas REE offers photo-etched plates as detail items, which is not the case here. Photo. What’s more, they are positioned too high (thanks David): compare with the photos of the actual machines;Plate glued crooked
  • the horns are not hollow;
  • the headlights look upwards. Photo. Secondly, they are fitted with two separate LEDs, whereas bi-colour LEDs are available in a compatible size. What’s more, they are not arranged symmetrically in relation to the machine’s plane of symmetry. Finally, it would have been better if they were on a vertical axis. Photo;Headlights looking upwardsBuffer beam
  • for the buffer beam equipment, apart from the lack of a simplified hook already mentioned, some brake hoses fit well: those whose mounting hole corresponds to their tenon, which is square… For the others with a square tenon too, but with a round mounting hole, you’ll have to explain to me how to square the circle… See the previous photo;
  • There’s nothing in the instructions about dismantling the wheelsets, and there’s no obvious way of dismantling the bogie housings.

I’ll stop here. For my first purchase from R37, I’have rather mixed feelings.

See:

  • the Loco-Revue forum;
  • gamos81.altervista.org for the list of the BB 63000 references released in scale models, but forgetting the 63500 R37. On the other hand, there is a long list of LS Models that will probably never be released…

Modifications

These modifications mainly involve repairing the model’s minor blunders. The photos opposite were taken after the modifications.

  • Acoustic cornets, bonnet grille and buffer glued back.
  • Brake hoses installed by making round holes square.
  • Vertical deformation of the railing corrected by discreetly cutting the excessively long upright.
  • Headlights and handrails straightened.
  • Installation of an ESU Lokpilot 5 DCC PluX22 decoder. Contrary to some fears, this decoder does not interfere with putting the body back in place. Programming this decoder is rather complicated because the four white lights are connected separately to four outputs, two of which are traditionally used for the red lights (AUX1 and AUX2). The latter are relegated to the AUX3 and AUX4 outputs:
    Output correspondence
    Use ESU output Zimo output
    White Ft L Front light
    White Ft R Rear light
    White Rr L AUX1 FO1
    White Rr R AUX2 FO2
    Red Front AUX3 FO3
    Red Rear AUX4 FO4
    Cab AUX6 FO6

History

580 locomotives built between 1956 and 1971 by Brissonneau et Lotz - Sulzer - S.A.C.M. Power 450 kW (diesel 610 kW). Maximum speed: 90 km/h. Weight 68 t.

The 63901 is one of four “heating” machines (63896, 63901, 63902 and 63906) at the La Plaine depot, fitted with an alternator in 1965 to heat passenger trains connecting the Gare du Nord and Gare de Lyon stations on the Petite Ceinture round Paris. The maximum authorised load was seven coaches (or more with reduced heating). Weight 70.4 t. 400 kVA alternator (source: DocRail).

The BB 63901 was brought into service on 28 December 1964 at La Plaine. Successive depots: Avignon in October 1980, Strasbourg in June 1982, Nîmes in January 1986, Avignon in November 1987. Written off on 18 May 2012 (sources: Trains du Sud-Ouest and EC64).

Documents

  • Loco-Revue sheet No. 29 / 64 c 3 (older series).
  • Loco-Revue diagram No. 1752 of the 040-DE (63000) series. Size 400 × 280 mm. Diagram preview.
  • Assignments at EC64.
  • Park at Trains du Sud-Ouest.
  • Photos on RailFanEurope.
  • Ferrovissimo No. 4 of July 2005 BB 63000 : la 2 CV du rail !
  • Ferrovissime special issue No. 6 of 2016 Les locomotives diesel mixtes et de manœuvre, p. 76 to 89.
LR diagram

BB 63901 R37, long bonnetBB 63901 R37, long bonnet

BB 63902, long bonnet

Cliché B. et H. Ruetsch sur DocRail.

BB 63901 R37, short bonnetBB 63901 R37, short bonnet

BB 63901, short bonnet

Photo J.-H. Lavie in Ferrovissimo No. 4, p. 14.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Overall length 14 780 169.9 170.5
Chassis length 13 500 155.2 154.8
Width 2 800 32.2 32.3
Width of long bonnet 1 720 19.8 20.0
Height 3 980 45.7 45.3
Height of long bonnet 3 380 38.9 38.7
Pivot distance 7 500 86.2 86.2
Bogie wheelbase 2 600 29.9 29.9
Wheel diameter 1 050 12.1 12.0
D B U
0.8 14.3  
to 14.5 1
  1. NEM: 14.5 ± 0.1.

Document available as a PDF.
If you are interested, please let me know by e-mail,
specifying the title of the document-s.
For conditions, see page
Loco-Revue documentary sheets. .

Page créée le 25/08/2023 ; dernière modification le 30/09/2023.

Marque - Référence

R37 HO41111

Type

BB 63901

Masse

221 g

Courant sous 12 V CC, avant rodage

  • Au patinage : 0,32 A (AV) / 0,28 A (AR)
  • Moteur bloqué : 0,6 A

Commentaires

Autant le dire d’emblée, je vais être sévère étant donné le prix de cette machine : 280 € (en analogique).

La locomotive est bien proportionnée, ce qui est confirmé par le tableau des dimensions. À la prise en main, elle semble assez légère, et c’est bien le cas (221 g contre 285 g pour les Roco). Les rambardes sont fines et en matériau souple. Des attelages à vis articulés et munis d’un crochet de repos sont fournis, mais pas de crochet simplifié permettant l’utilisation conjointe des timons à élongation. À propos, ces timons sont facilement démontables (2 vis) pour qui ne veut plus voir les peu discrets boîtiers NEM.

Nombreuses pièces rapportées, en plastique (cornets acoustiques, crochets divers, essuie-glaces) ou en métal (rambardes et grilles de capot, anneaux de levage). Attention : certaines sont mal fixées et s’échappent facilement (cas d’une grille de grand capot, retrouvée par chance, et des cornets).

Comme signalé sur le forum Loco-Revue, la machine est « bananée », de 0,5 mm environ. Cette déformation disparaît presque en desserrant les vis de fixation de la caisse, mais, comme elles n’étaient pas très serrées à l’origine, elles sont maintenant quelque peu flottantes. Espérons qu’elles ne s’échapperont pas.

La cabine est aménagée, avec un joli pupitre assez détaillé.

La caisse, le platelage et le châssis extérieur (longerons et traverses de tamponnement) forment une pièce unique qui se démonte par quatre vis. L’intérieur révèle un câblage propre, avec de multiples palpeurs à ressorts pour connecter le circuit imprimé fixé au châssis intérieur aux différents éclairages solidaires de la caisse. Le moteur est muni de deux volants d’inertie. Photo.Machine démontée

Maintenant, passons à la longue liste des petits défauts agaçants :

  • un tampon a sauté lorsque je retirais les attelages standard (pourquoi les avoir montés ?), et je n’arrive pas à le remettre en place, comme si son logement était à moitié bouché ;
  • la rambarde gauche côté grand capot présente une curieuse déformation, dont il n’est pas facile de déterminer la cause. Le platelage semble aussi déformé sur la photo, mais cela ne se voit pas en réalité. Photo ;Rambarde — ou platelage — déformée
  • une plaque d’immatriculation est collée un peu de travers, et on peut voir autour des traces de colle. D’autre part, ces plaques sont simplement tampographiées, alors que REE en propose des photogravées en pièces de détaillage, ce qui n’est pas le cas ici. Photo. De plus, elles sont placées trop haut (merci David) : comparer aux photos des machines réelles.Plaque collée de travers
  • les trompes d’avertisseur ne sont pas creuses ;
  • les phares regardent vers le haut. Photo. D’autre part, il sont équipés de deux LED séparées, alors que des LED bicolores existent dans une taille compatible. Qui plus est, elles ne sont pas disposées symétriquement par rapport au plan de symétrie de la machine. Enfin, il aurait mieux valu qu’elles soient sur un axe vertical. Photo ;Phares relevésTraverse de tamponnement
  • pour l’équipement des traverses de tamponnement, outre le manque de crochet simplifié déjà signalé, certaines conduites de frein se montent bien : celles dont le trou de montage correspond à leur tenon, carré… Pour les autres à tenon carré aussi, mais au trou de montage rond, il faudra m’expliquer la quadrature du cercle… Voir sur la photo précédente ;
  • rien n’est dit dans la notice sur le démontage des essieux, et les carters de bogie ne présentent pas de possibilité de démontage évidente.

J’arrête là. Pour mon premier achat chez R37, mon sentiment est assez mitigé.

Voir :

  • le forum Loco-Revue ;
  • gamos81.altervista.org pour la liste des références de 63000 sorties en modèle réduit, avec toutefois l’oubli des 63500 R37, justement. En revanche, il y a une longue liste de références LS Models qui ne sortiront probablement jamais…

Modifications

Ces modifications consistent surtout à réparer les petites bévues du modèle. Les photos ci-contre ont été prises après les modifications.

  • Cornets acoustiques, grille de capot, tampon recollés.
  • Demi accouplements de frein installés en rendant carrés les trous ronds.
  • Déformation verticale de la rambarde corrigée en sectionnant discrètement le montant trop long.
  • Phares et rambardes redressés.
  • Installation d’un décodeur ESU Lokpilot 5 DCC PluX22. Contrairement à certaines craintes, ce décodeur ne gêne pas la remi­se en place de la caisse. La program­mation de ce décodeur est assez compliquée du fait que les quatre feux blancs sont bran­chés séparément sur quatre sorties, dont deux qui sont utilisées traditionnellement pour les feux rouges (AUX1 et AUX2). Ces derniers sont relégués aux sorties AUX3 et AUX4 :
    Correspondance des sorties
    Utilisation Sortie ESU Sortie Zimo
    Blanc AV G Front light
    Blanc AV D Back light
    Blanc AR G AUX1 FO1
    Blanc AR D AUX2 FO2
    Rouges AV AUX3 FO3
    Rouges AR AUX4 FO4
    Cabine AUX6 FO6

Historique

Locomotives construites en 580 exemplaires de 1956 à 1971 par Brissonneau et Lotz - Sulzer - S.A.C.M. Puissance 450 kW (diesel 610 kW). Vitesse maximale : 90 km/h. Masse 68 t.

La 63901 fait partie des quatre machines dites « chauffantes » (63896, 63901, 63902 et 63906) du dépôt de La Plaine, dotées en 1965 d’un alternateur dans le but de chauffer les trains voyageurs de jonction entre les gares du Nord et de Lyon, par la Petite Ceinture parisienne. La charge maximale autorisée était de sept voitures (ou plus avec chauffage réduit). Masse 70,4 t. Alternateur de 400 kVA (source : DocRail).

La BB 63901 est mise en service le 28 décembre 1964 à La Plaine. Dépôts successifs : Avignon en octobre 1980, Strasbourg en juin 1982, Nîmes en janvier 1986, Avignon en novembre 1987. Radiée le 18 mai 2012 (sources : Trains du Sud-Ouest et EC64).

Documents

  • Fiche Loco-Revue no 29 / 64 c 3 (ancienne série).
  • Plan Loco-Revue no 1752 de la série 040-DE (63000). Format 400 × 280 mm. Aperçu du plan.
  • Affectations chez EC64.
  • Parc chez Trains du Sud-Ouest.
  • Photos sur RailFanEurope.
  • Ferrovissimo no 4 de juillet 2005 BB 63000 : la 2 CV du rail !
Plan LR

BB 63901 R37, grand capotBB 63901 R37, grand capot

BB 63902, grand capot

Cliché B. et H. Ruetsch sur DocRail.

BB 63901 R37, petit capotBB 63901 R37, petit capot

BB 63901, petit capot

Cliché J.-H. Lavie dans Ferrovissimo no 4, p. 14.

Cotes Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur H. T. 14 780 169,9 170,5
Longueur châssis 13 500 155,2 154,8
Largeur caisse 2 800 32,2 32,3
Largeur grand capot 1 720 19,8 20,0
Hauteur 3 980 45,7 45,3
Hauteur grand capot 3 380 38,9 38,7
Distance pivots de bogies 7 500 86,2 86,2
Empattement bogie 2 600 29,9 29,9
Diamètre roues 1 050 12,1 12,0
D B U
0,8 14,3  
à 14,5 1
  1. NEM : 14,5 ± 0,1.

Document disponible au format PDF.
Si vous êtes intéressé(e), faites-le moi savoir par e-mail,
en précisant l’intitulé du ou des documents.
Pour les conditions, voir la page
Fiches documentaires Loco-Revue. .