Improving the
REE UIC coaches (1)

Original page created on 04/06/2023.

REE UIC B10 coach in C160 livery

REE UIC B10 coach in C160 livery.

Observation

The overall appearance is good. The only major flaw is the junction between the body and the roof, although it is less obvious than on previous DEV coaches. Fixing the roof with two screws seems rather outdated. It makes reassembly difficult, as the screws are difficult to reach and don’t centre automatically. On versions with C160 livery, the metal grey strip is badly positioned. See this page.

Other faults appear with use:

Dismantling

Removing the roof is not difficult (reassembling is!). It’s made easier by using a cross-headed screwdriver with the largest possible diameter (better guidance), i.e. 3 mm. The screws are located in housings under the bogies. Note: there are two holes side by side. One is empty and will be used for the power supply wires.

In the following photo, you can see this hole with a red wire running through it. The screw housing, not visible here, is symmetrical in relation to the drawbar return spring.

Wire hole through the chassis

Once the roof has been removed, a false ceiling is revealed, held in place by two mortises that engage with tenons attached to the interior fittings. This false ceiling has rectangular openings, obviously made for LEDs. All the arrangements are provided, except for the ½ service compartment of the A4B5.

View of the false ceiling

The false ceiling also has four square pins for centring the lighting strip (dimensions in orange):

Close-up view of false ceiling

Rectifying the bogie span

For the coach to get level, the bosses on the chassis underside need to bear on the bogie. This is achieved by gluing two 0.3 mm thick polystyrene shims to the centre bolster of the bogie.

Bearing shims

This photo also shows a small piece of self-adhesive copper that will be used to electrify the bogie. It is important to note its position, which must not interfere with the support bosses.

Amélioration des
voitures UIC REE (1)

Page créée le 04/06/2023.

Voiture UIC B10 REE en livrée C160

Voiture UIC B10 REE en livrée C160.

Constat

Globalement, l’aspect est réussi. Seul gros couac : la jonction entre caisse et toit, même si elle est moins apparente que sur les DEV précédemment sorties. La fixation du toit par deux vis semble assez désuète. Elle complique le remontage, car ces vis sont difficiles à atteindre et ne se centrent pas automatiquement. Sur les versions en livrée C160, la bande métallisée est mal positionnée. Voir cette page.

D’autres défauts apparaissent à l’usage :

Démontage

Le démontage du toit n’est pas difficile (le remontage l’est !). Il est facilité en utilisant un tournevis cruciforme de diamètre le plus grand possible (meilleur guidage), à savoir 3 mm. Les vis se trouvent dans des logements situés sous les bogies. Attention : il y a deux trous côte à côte. L’un est vide et servira au passage des fils d’alimentation électrique.

Sur la photo suivante, on voit ce trou traversé par un fil rouge. Le logement de la vis, non visible ici, est symétrique par rapport au ressort de rappel du timon.

Trou de passage du fil dans le châssis

Après avoir ôté le toit, on découvre un faux plafond maintenu par deux mortaises engagées dans des tenons solidaires de l’aménagement intérieur. Ce faux plafond comporte des ouvertures rectangulaires faites manifestement pour des LED. Tous les diagrammes sont prévus, sauf le ½ compartiment de service des A4B5.

Vue du faux plafond

Le faux plafond comporte aussi quatre pions carrés pour le centrage de la réglette d’éclairage (cotes en orange) :

Vue rapprochée du faux plafond

Rectification de la portée des bogies

Pour que la voiture garde son assiette, il faut que les bossages prévus sous le châssis portent sur le bogie. Pour cela, il suffit de coller sur la traverse centrale du bogie deux cales en polystyrène de 0,3 mm d’épaisseur.

Cales de portée

On voit aussi sur cette photo un petit morceau de cuivre autocollant qui servira à l’électrification du bogie. Il est important de noter sa position qui ne doit pas interférer avec les portées.