DAF 750 Brekina

Original page created on 30/07/2023.

Brand - Reference

Brekina 27717

Type

DAF 750

Comments

An atypical little car that surprised with its “Variomatic” transmission. The Brekina model is nice, despite its slightly too prominent radiator grille. In fact, this model seems closer to the 1963 DAF 30 Daffodil. See in particular the position of the front indicators.

The headlights, bumper and grille are inserts. Other lights are painted (rather badly). Windscreen and rear window not very flush. Moulded rearview mirror and windscreen wipers. The wheels are very plain and in keeping with the original.

The headlights, not silvered, are very dark. The glazing is stuck askew, as can be seen on the three-quarter view photo. It’s easy to correct by ungluing it off…

The model can be dismantled by removing the bumpers and grille. The one-piece interior is moderately detailed. The tiny steering wheel is moulded together with the interior. Photo.Dismantled car Disassembly reveals another version, the DAF 600, with round indicators. Its ugly front end is reminiscent of the AMI 6 Citroën…

History

The DAF 750 was manufactured from 1961 to 1963. The better known Daffodil version, as an export model, and virtually identical, was produced from 1961 to 1967.

Specifications (1963 model): 2-cylinder flat boxer engine, 746 cm3, 22 kW (30 bhp) DIN. 145 - 330 tyres. Maximum speed 105 km/h. Unladen weight 660 kg.

It was equipped with the famous Variomatic automatic transmission with variable-diameter pulleys and belts. In fact, the first application of this transmission to cars was by Gustave Fouillaron, at the beginning of the twentieth century.

Documents :

DAF 750 BrekinaDAF 750 Brekina

Daffodil, rear view

Photo oldiesfan67 on oldiesfan67.canalblog.com.

DAF 750 BrekinaDAF 750 Brekina

Daffodil, front view

Photo oldiesfan67 on oldiesfan67.canalblog.com.

Dimension Actual 1:87 Model
Length 3 610 41.5 41.1
Width 1 440 16.6 17.0
Height 1 380 15.9 16.2
Wheelbase 2 050 23.6 23.9
Front track 1 180 13.6 13.6
Rear track 1 180 13.6 13.6
Wheel diameter 591 6.8 6.5
Tyre width 145 1.7 1.8

Page créée le 30/07/2023.

Marque - Référence

Brekina 27717

Type

DAF 750

Commentaires

Petite voiture atypique qui avait surpris par sa transmission « Variomatic ». Le modèle Brekina est sympathique, malgré sa calandre un peu trop proéminente. En fait, ce modèle me semble plus proche de la DAF 30 Daffodil de 1963. Voir en particulier la position des clignotants avant.

Phares, pare-chocs, calandre rapportés. Autres feux peints (assez mal). Pare-brise et lunette arrière peu affleurants. Rétroviseur moulé avec la caisse, ainsi que les essuie-glaces. Les jantes, très sobres, sont confor­mes à l’original.

Les phares, non argentés, sont très sombres. Le vitrage est collé de travers, cela se voit sur la photo de trois-quart face. C’est facile à corriger en le décollant…

Le modèle se démonte en retirant les pare-chocs et la calandre. L’intérieur, d’une seule pièce, est moyennement détaillé. Le volant minuscule est moulé avec l’aménagement. Photo.Voiture démontée Le démontage permet de voir qu’une autre version existe, la DAF 600, avec des clignotants ronds. Elle n’est pas sans rappeler l’AMI 6 Citroën par la laideur de son avant…

Historique

La DAF 750 a été fabriquée de 1961 à 1963. La version Daffodil, plus connue car destinée à l’exportation et quasi identique, a été fabriquée de 1961 à 1967.

Caractéristiques (modèle 1963) : moteur boxer 2 cylindres à plat, 746 cm3, 22 kW (30 ch) DIN. Pneus 145 - 330. Vitesse max. 105 km/h. Masse à vide 660 kg.

Elle était équipée de la fameuse transmission automatique Variomatic à poulies de diamètre variable et courroies. En fait, la première application de cette transmission à l’automobile est due à Gustave Fouillaron, au début du XXe siècle.

Documents :

DAF 750 BrekinaDAF 750 Brekina

Daffodil, vue arrière

Cliché oldiesfan67 sur oldiesfan67.canalblog.com.

DAF 750 BrekinaDAF 750 Brekina

Daffodil, vue avant

Cliché oldiesfan67 sur oldiesfan67.canalblog.com.

Cote Réelle 1:87 Modèle
Longueur 3 610 41,5 41,1
Largeur 1 440 16,6 17,0
Hauteur 1 380 15,9 16,2
Empattement 2 050 23,6 23,9
Voie avant 1 180 13,6 13,6
Voie arrière 1 180 13,6 13,6
Diamètre roues 591 6,8 6,5
Largeur pneus 145 1,7 1,8